Skip to main content

Undergrad Creative Writing Contest

This year’s winner: Gabriela Ramos, for her amazing essay “Healthcare,” chosen by judge Abby Chew. Not only did Gabriela win the ULV contest with “Healthcare,” but the essay also earned her a scholarship from the Juniper Summer  Writing Institute and was named one of three finalists in the Kurt Brown Prize for Creative Nonfiction. About “Healthcare,” judge Elizabeth Silver wrote:

“This was an innovative look into family remedies in medicinal settings as a means of telling the narrator’s story. A strong entryway into memoir/essay. The voice is at once tactile and entertaining and leaps off the page.”

Congrats, Gaby!


2018-2019: Next year’s contest to be announced in fall. As always, the winning entry will receive publication alongside great national authors in Prism Review, our national lit journal, and a $100 bookstore (TBD) giftcard.

Be patient! Send your best material! Deadline will be 11:59pm on March 1, 2019.

Prism Review vol. 05


  • One submission per author (multiple submissions are disqualified).
  • Open to undergrads enrolled at the University of La Verne during spring 2017.
  • Submissions can be:
    1. a single story (6-15 double-spaced pages);
    2. a single creative literary essay (6-15 double-spaced pages);
    3. interrelated short-short stories (6-15 double-spaced pages); or
    4. 1-5 poems.
  • Each submission judged as a whole.
  • Final judge not affiliated with the University of La Verne.
  • Winner announced at Prism Review launch, May 2018.

Questions? Email Sean Bernard, Creative Writing program director.

Ready to submit?

Email your submission (as RTF, PDF, DOC, or DOCX file) with subject line “ULV LITERARY CONTEST,” HERE.

Past winners

2018 Cheyenne Avila, “The House on Elburg Street” (essay), chosen by judge Kevin Riel
2017 John Abbasi, “Darling Young Boy” (story), chosen by judge Corinna Vallianatos
2016 Guadalupe Robles, “Letter From Your Parents, The Moon and Sun” and “Second Letter” (poems), chosen by judge Michelle Detorie
2015 co-winners: Mary Roy, “The First Time He Saw Her” and “Apt. 667” (poems) and Larissa Malia Nobles, “Earth’s Worm” (story), chosen by judge Jessica Piazza
2012 Rebecca Ayala, “Branded” (story), chosen by judge Brent Armendinger