Esther Davis Memorial Scholarship

Esther Davis, photographed by Doug CarterThe Communications Department offers a $2,500 scholarship to students within the Communications Department in memory of its founder, Dr. Esther Ritter Davis. The scholarship is given to outstanding communications students.

Dr. Davis joined the university faculty in December 1975 and, working with Campus Times adviser Gary Colby, proceeded to organize a journalism department. Davis orchestrated the growth of the radio and television departments while serving as department chair.

Dr. Davis died at the age of 83 in May 1991, and left the University of La Verne Communications Department with an impressive legacy.

A native of Formoso, Kansas, Dr. Davis is credited with building several communications departments in area colleges, including Los Angeles Valley College and Pasadena City College. She was gifted at instilling a love of her subject in her students, and then taking a personal interest in their careers.


How to Apply

The following criteria will be used in determining the recipient(s) of the Esther Davis Scholarship:

The scholarship shall be awarded to a student who will be a sophomore, junior, or senior majoring in Journalism, Digital Media, or Communications. The recipient(s) shall be selected by the faculty of the Communications Department and will be based on the student’s commitment, involvement, and academic success in the Communications Department. The department may choose, at its discretion, to select a single person or multiple scholarship recipients.

Application Process

Students must fill out application form and attach a 250-300 word typed, double-spaced essay explaining the student’s involvement in and contribution to the Communications Department, with particular respect to academic achievements and involvement in departmental activities, and an updated resume.

The application period is now closed. It will reopen in Spring 2022.


How to Donate

Those interested in making donations are invited to make a check payable to ULV Davis Memorial Scholarship. Please send all donations to:

University of La Verne
Communications Department
1950 Third Street
La Verne, CA 91750


Current Winner: Angela Romo

The 23rd annual Esther Davis Scholarship was presented to junior Angela Romo at the Communications Department Awards Ceremony on May 23, 2020.

Angela, from Ontario, California, is a broadcasting major with a concentration in film and television production and a minor in theater arts. She has worked on a number of student films, both behind the camera and as an actor. In addition, she has worked as a resident assistant in the housing department and a faculty research assistant in the theater arts department.

Congratulations, Angela!