Communications Dept. Award Winners, 2022

Print/Online Journalism

<u>Campus Times Editor's Award</u> Taylor Moore (Fall 2021) Pedro Isao Mori (Spring 2022)

<u>La Verne Magazine Editor's Award</u> Andrea Molina (Fall 2021)

Sarah Van Buskirk (Spring 2022)

Opinion Writing

First Place – Hien Nguyen, "Oklahoma abortion ban is misogynistic"
Second Place – Jaydelle Herbert, "It's not as clear and black and white"
Third Place (tie) – Anabel Martinez, "Eviction moratorium end could cause housing catastrophe"
Anabel Martinez, "Capitalism is forcing sick people back to work"

News Story

First Place – Vincent M. Franco, "California is first state to call stealthing a crime" Second Place – Samira Felix, "Lawsuit seeks partial refund of spring 2020 tuition" Third Place – Olivia Modarelli, "La Verne Police Department has first woman chief"

Entertainment/Arts Review

First Place – Hien Nguyen, "'Turning Red' depicts an honest and relatable coming of age story" Second Place – Megan Mojica, "Hiroshima exhibit explores the reality of the bombing" Third Place – Vincent M. Franco, "Poetry reading caps off Black History Month celebration"

Human Interest/Profile Story

First Place – Anabel Martinez, "Juice bar fuels community with health, taste" Second Place – Vincent M. Franco, "Car show embraces Chicano hot rod culture" Third Place – Megan Mojica, "Seder celebrates Jewish liberation"

Sports Story

First Place – Sebastián Abdón Ibarra, "Athlete returns to the field after life-changing injury" Second Place – Sebastián Abdón Ibarra, "Return of high school sports gives student sense of normalcy"

Third Place – Sarah Van Buskirk, "Salcedo's extra inning walk-off steals win from Bulldogs"

Magazine University Story

First Place – Jaydelle Herbert, "An Untold Football Tale from 20 Years Ago" Second Place – Ryan Konrad, "To Live, Die and Live Again in Founders" Third Place – Anabel Martinez, "La Verne's 10,000-Year-Old Cat"

Magazine Community Story

First Place – Lindsey Pacela, "When a Train Comes to Town" Second Place – Greta Taylor, "Local Museums: Trains, Cars & Planes" Third Place – Sumiko Rudisky, "Picnic Places that Say Fun"

Magazine Pandemic Silver Lining Column

First Place – Sarah Van Buskirk, "Longing for Change" Second Place – Jaydelle Herbert, "The Unknown Reality" Third Place – Greta Taylor, "Living Mindfully"

Magazine COVID Column

First Place – Andrea Molina, "Flying to a COVID-19 Reality" Second Place – Sumiko Rudisky, "Swimming in the Pandemic Pool" Third Place – Ryan Konrad, "The 2,000 Mile Zoom Commute"

Writer of the Year (tie) Jaydelle Herbert Anabel Martinez

Public Relations

<u>Public Relations Senior Project</u> First Place – Andrew Gutierrez Second Place – Emily Gosdanian

<u>Public Relations Student of the Year</u> Sumiko Rudisky

Broadcast Journalism

Best In-Depth TV News Reporting Valerie Valadez, Jonathan Garcia

Best General TV News Reporting Aaron Arellano

Best TV News Producing Rashonda Taylor

<u>Broadcast Journalist of the Year</u> Valerie Valadez

Digital Audio & Radio Production

<u>LeoFM Program Director's Award</u> Joshua Dunn (Fall 2021) Bryce Banks (Spring 2022)

<u>LeoFM Aircheck/Audition Demo</u> Andrew Morris, "Sunshine"

LeoFM Produced Announcement

Andrew Morris, "Cactus Coffee"

Senior Project Show/Podcast

Bryce Banks, "The NuBanks Freeway of House Music Show #1"

Radio Broadcaster of the Year

Brianna Gonzalez

Film & Television

Best Narrative Editing

Hector Soriano, "When Death Blossoms"

Best Documentary Editing

Nicholas Ceballos, "Project Next Guest"

Best Editing for a Trailer or Music Video

Nicholas Ceballos, "Bojack Horseman"

Best Directing

Kristyn Reed, "When Death Blossoms"

Best Cinematography
Daniel Saldana, "When Death Blossoms"

Best Screenplay

Sarah Serrano, "Full of Grace"

Best Narrative Film (tie)

"When Death Blossoms" -- Kristyn Reed, Edith Ocana, Daniel Saldana, Hector Soriano "Full of Grace" -- Sarah Serrano, Victoria Tavera, Andrew Haynes, Nicholas Ceballos

Filmmaker of the Year

Kristyn Reed

Scholarships

Esther Davis Memorial Scholarship

Amanda Torres

Rob K. Fukuzaki Heads Up Youth Foundation Scholarship

Nathaniel Rodriguez